Why I believe UMDNJSOM is the most "unosteopathic DO school!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

njdesi

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am hopping that this thread may not anger or offend people, but I would like to share briefly my experience with the Dean of Admissions at UMDNJSOM. I am a NJ state resident, a graduate of Rutgers University (3.3 undergrad, 3.16 postbaac, science cum 3.03), and have an MPH from the UMDNJ system (3.85) (and a 25P MCAT). My file has been "on hold for an interview" at UMDNJSOM for months. I finally e-mailed and talked to Dean Warren Wallace what makes my application too good for rejection, but not good enough for an interview. His answer is the most bull **** answer I have heard from any osteopathic medical school admissions person ever : "your science GPA and MCAT is below our average". I never expected a DO school to
be so numbers oriented. I am positive if I was a Hispanic or African American female I would have been given an interview. I realize now that these state funded medical schools are very political. I am Asian so I am expected to come with a higher GPA and MCAT score.

I thought that DO schools looked at more than just numbers! I have been interviewed and accepted at 4 DO schools. I had to turn down interviews at KCOM and UNECOM due to lack of funds and time. I will be heading off to PCOM in August. UMDNJSOM cannot even compare to KCOM and PCOM.

I am still left to wonder why this school is so arrogant. It's OMM hours is among the lowest of DO schools, its clinical affiliations are mediocre at best, and the facilities cannot compare to other sister schools such as PCOM and KCOM. It does not even have nationally ranked osteopathic hospitals such as MSUCOM, OUCOM, TCOM and WVSOM among the state funded DO schools. I feel this school is overrated and arrogant.

Members don't see this ad.