Which School Should I Pick?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RTKMD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a California resident and am fortunate enough to get into 2 schools (1 MD, 1 DO). I would appreciate any advice on which one is best. I am not interested in primary care or family medicine. Currently thinking about OB/GYN or general surgery. I am posting in the MD and DO forums to hoping to get both view points.

Western Michigan:
Pros:
- MD school
- Very new school with impressive building and facilities
- New curriculum
- Taking Step 1 after 3rd year

Cons:
- Weather (don't really like cold and snow)
- New school: their 1st class hasn't even taken the Step yet, no track record on students' performance on Step, no match history
- New school: not sure how the PDs will view students from this school

Midwestern (AZCOM):
Pros:
- Weather (sunny Arizona)
- Close to home and family
- Good track record of above average board scores
- Good track record of matching students
- Established school (one of the better DO schools around)

Cons:
- DO school
- Very expensive tuition

Members don't see this ad.

I am a California resident and am fortunate enough to get into 2 schools (1 MD, 1 DO). I would appreciate any advice on which one is best. I am not interested in primary care or family medicine. Currently thinking about OB/GYN or general surgery. I am posting in the MD and DO forums to hoping to get both view points.

Western Michigan:
Pros:
- MD school
- Very new school with impressive building and facilities
- New curriculum
- Taking Step 1 after 3rd year

Cons:
- Weather (don't really like cold and snow)
- New school: their 1st class hasn't even taken the Step yet, no track record on students' performance on Step, no match history
- New school: not sure how the PDs will view students from this school

Midwestern (AZCOM):
Pros:
- Weather (sunny Arizona)
- Close to home and family