Where to move forward as a pre-med with 1 year left?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Esirec

Reaction score
Hi everyone, first time posting here. Was prompted to after I got my MCAT score which was a little below what I had expected. For a little background prior to my statistics: I am currently going into my senior year at UCSD and hope to apply to Medical School the 2021-2022 cycle. I am a Californian Resident, and am Asian (hence ORM).

Main Questions for Viewers: (1) What should I do with the year I have left? (2) What schools, would you recommend looking into and or applying to in the future?

Stats:
1) School: (As mentioned above) UCSD with a Biochemistry, Cell Biology major, graduating 2021
2) Current GPA: 3.55 | Science GPA: 3.56
  • Anticipated GPA by graduation: 3.61-3.63 | Science: 3.63-3.65
  • Note: Upward trends (I started with a 3.0 almost the entirety of freshman year, and worked hard to improve it; not sure how much it matters)
3) MCAT Score: 508, 128/126/129/125
  • I was scoring around 508-512 on the AAMC practice FL's. Everything except the Psych/Soc section were expected - I hadn't scored below a 127 before on Psych/Soc.
  • Note: My main concern is I won't have enough time to retake before the 21-22 cycle given some of the extracurriculars I've planned to take.
4) Medical Experience:
  1. 100+ hours of Volunteering at the Emergency Department at Jacobs Hospital by UCSD (considered Clinical)
5) Additional Experience/Extracurriculars:
  1. 100+ hours as a lab assistant
  2. Will be working on a research project I designed in the lab mentioned above - I have planned for this to transition into a Master's degree the following year as I wait for secondaries, interviews, and (hopefully) any acceptances
  3. 100+ hours as a SI/SG leader (similar to a tutor, except employing active learning and facilitation skills to prime student's knowledge)