When to re-apply

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DoctorSparkles

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I haven't changed much about my application in the last year and I am trying to decide if should re-apply with a more broad school list or wait a year. My concern is the re-applicant questions that ask what you've added to your application. I have had a busy year personally and don't have much to add to my previous application. Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

If nothing has changed, why do you anticipate a different outcome?
That is a good point. I just don't really know what else to do. I'm a non-trad and I can't quit my full time job and work in a clinic to get more experience. I have a master's degree in biology and will finish a second master's in mental health this summer. I feel like anything else I do won't make my application different, it will just add hours to the experiences I already have. I have had some success at getting interviews but they keep resulting in waitlist offers. It seems like it may be a timing issue and my thinking is that if I apply to more schools than last cycle, I will have a better shot at the right person reading my app at the right time.

Members don't see this ad :)
That is a good point. I just don't really know what else to do. I'm a non-trad and I can't quit my full time job and work in a clinic to get more experience. I have a master's degree in biology and will finish a second master's in mental health this summer. I feel like anything else I do won't make my application different, it will just add hours to the experiences I already have. I have had some success at getting interviews but they keep resulting in waitlist offers. It seems like it may be a timing issue and my thinking is that if I apply to more schools than last cycle, I will have a better shot at the right person reading my app at the right time.