When to apply for first job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PT2Bee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I didn't find a similar thread in a search. I am a 3rd yr student on my last clinical affil who will be graduating in June and taking the NPTE in July. When would be an ideal time to begin applying for jobs? I have been getting emails from school advertising some jobs here and there, but it seems odd that a clinic would tender an offer when I am still at least 5 months out from actually starting. When did you all begin applying for your first jobs?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I am sure it depends on the location, but I didn't start sending resumes out until after I had passed the Board. I got several interviews within a week or two, and offers shortly thereafter.

Reactions: 1 users
I sent out resumes as soon as I received my temporary license.

Members don't see this ad :)
My recommendation for all students is always the same: as early as possible. You need practice even while studing.