What's your opinion on CPOE (Computerized Physician Order Entry)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

winter32842

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a hospital Pharmacist. I know that most of us love CPOE orders and hate written orders. Do most doctors hate it or love it? What is your personal opinion? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a hospital Pharmacist. I know that most of us love CPOE orders and hate written orders. Do most doctors hate it or love it? What is your personal opinion? Thanks.

I mostly hate it, because it drastically slows the flow of clinic down. There are benefits when it comes to patient safety, though.

Most people on this forum (Allopathic) are medical students and generally don't write orders, so you may not get many responses.

I prefer it, no handwriting issues and for complicated patients having an order set pre-customized makes it faster. What I really like though are verbal orders, then all I have to do is sign :D.

The population you are polling may be skewed due to the limited amount of years they have been practicing in most cases. If their training did not include a lot of hand written orders, only perhaps the occasional one (if that) then your response will be skewed. People will either say they hate it and prefer hand written orders (but perhaps do no have the experience to know what doing everything via hand written orders implies in terms of efficiency, workload, time to process orders etc. or people may say they love it, but it could be because they don't know much else.

Having said that, because for most people on this forum, CPOE, like EMR as a whole is all they know (transition completed) they will likely ( in my opinion) say they prefer it because that's what they are used to and people are creatures of habit.

You may try posting this question in the Resident's sub-forum to get more answers