What would you do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lee9786

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently taking prereqs for admission to DPT school. I have almost all but physics I and II which I plan on taking the next fall and spring semester. The plan is to have my application in by this December. I currently have no experience working in a PT setting. I need to get my volunteer hours in and my plan is to hopefully get a job from that.

Currently I'm a part-time science tutor at the college I'm taking my prereqs at. I have no time from 8am to 5pm mon-fri to volunteer anytime because I'm either in class or at work. The only time I'd have to volunteer would be wed-fri after 5pm and all day on the weekends. In what setting could I volunteer with these hours of availability?

In the summertime I will not be taking classes. I guess this will be better time to volunteer. The problem is I also need to be making money in the summertime to survive. Unfortunately how I've done this for a number of years in my life has been to work in the food service industry as a fine-dining server. I would rather not be doing this though this summer. I'd rather be utilizing my skills in a healthcare area helping people as opposed to working in the hospitality setting.

I guess my plan is right now to start volunteering on Saturdays somewhere? Would Hospitals be a good place to volunteer at? Ideally I'd like to be making contacts now with intentions of possibly getting a job as a PT aide for the summer and hopefully longer. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I use to work and volunteer at a hospital inpatient rehab and acute rehab on weekends only. Its good that we're in a health care field, because many places are open on weekends.
Just keep calling, calling, calling. You're bound to find a weekend place that will let u volunteer.