Program-Specific Info / Q's What would be the best path to become an OT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GD-OT

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey friendly people of the internet. I am a Graphic Designer that has realized this is not the career path I wanted. I have finally gather the courage to go back to school and I have decided to become an Occupational Therapist. I have been doing research on the field and it seems to be a rewarding career path.

My question is whether I should try to take my prereqs and try to apply to variate of different OT schools or should I apply and become a KOTA. I really don't have the best GPA (3.0) and I was told that becoming a KOTA gives you a better chance to later get into OT school. I was also told certain companies will pay for you to go back to school to become an OT.

If anybody has any helpful information please respond back. Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi GD-OT, I majored in Graphic Design as my undergraduate major and found myself in a similar situation. As of right now, I have just been accepted into an OT program starting 2014. I decided to take my prereqs at a community college and then applied straight to OT school as opposed to becoming an OTA first. I didn't even really look into becoming a OTA, so I really can't speak to that path. Maybe others can provide you more information about that process. Here is a little bit about my path that you might find helpful: