What was your first call?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jonb12997

I'm a doctor!!
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, here's a topic for discussion...

What was your first ambulance call as a medic/EMT/assistant? and what was your certification level?

I'll start: mine was a injured ankle while walking along the side of the road. I was a 16 year old in an explorer type program. I got to ride along in the ambulance and see how things worked. I did basically nothing except watch what was going on. The driver offered to let me call in on scene on the radio, but I was too nervous to even do that. I had no certification at the time, but went on to get my basic two years later...

Anyone else? :D

Members don't see this ad.

First call as a EMT-B: Elderly man with an asthma attack brought about by taking ASA - it was Bayer and he thought it was Tylenol. Feb. 1986. My Dad co-teched the call with me. It was very cool!

couldn't remember if you paid me. too long ago and soooo many calls. I remember some of the "early" calls in my career though.

later

Members don't see this ad :)
I think it was my second call on my first day (I don't remember what the first was) as an EMT-B in Jerusalem...a 9 month baby that was choking on something and couldn't breathe but thank goodness by the time we got there it was out. An intensive care ambulance got sent as well but we were closest and got there first. I just remember there being some really tense moments on the ambulance on the way there.

jonb12997 said:
Hey, here's a topic for discussion...

What was your first ambulance call as a medic/EMT/assistant? and what was your certification level?
Trial by body fluid, I like to call it...

A 450# woman, at home, w/hx of kidney stones complaining of all the s/s she usually gets with stones.