What to do from here

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Yummyinmytummy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'd like to get some feedback on what people here believe would be the best course of action from my current situation. First off, some info:

• Graduated 2 years ago from top 15 school with BS in Chemistry (with Conc. in Biochem) and minor in Physics, Summa Cum Laude
  • Country/state of residence: Georgia, for the past year (I'll get to that)
  • Cumulative GPA: 3.89
  • Science GPA: 3.86 I believe?
  • MCAT Score: 31 first time (12 PS, 10 VR, 09 BS) and 34 ((12, 11, 11) amcas says that puts me at 94%), most recent one being 01/25/14
  • Research: This is the tricky part. Research during school year and summers, one SURF award at one lab and research presented at an Undergrad Symposium. When I graduated, I stayed a year to do more research but with a different lab, as I wanted to explore other research interests. Sadly, for all the time I spent in the first lab, I can only say I have the one SURF to show for it. Spent summer after graduating working part-time in 2 different labs. Committed to one lab after 2 months but received an outstanding rec letter from the other (I also TA'ed for that professor). Spent a year in that lab, research presented on a poster at a conference and a manuscript is being written for another project I worked on (for which I will be listed as an author). I received word from the postdoc I worked with that our work is going into clinical trials soon (yay!). Also received outstanding rec letter from this lab, as they really appreciated my help.
  • Volunteering (clinical): Volunteered for one academic year and one summer at a children's hospital (total ~100 hours)
  • Physician shadowing: 30 hours through school premed class program (shadowed in ER)
  • Non-clinical volunteering: Too many to list but they total over 800 hours