What technology do you think is "the future of rad onc"?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cremaster reflex

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am a preclinical student interested in rad onc preparing for a class debate. We are to debate about what technology we think should get the most research funding in rad onc and we are supposed to get professional opinions on this. I read a research review article from 2000 talking about how proton therapy was the future but that was 2001 and have not found anything more recent in regards to this. What do you think; proton, IMRT, imagining modalities etc.? I appreciate your time

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I dont have much to say about this really; it is a bit difficult to understand our field as a med student. I think the future of rad onc is not in rad onc actually. It is in combination treatment w targeted therapeutics. I wouldnt put much more $ in development of the technologies but Ill be interested to hear what our more seasoned vets around here think.

Also this might be helpful for your project: http://ascopubs.org/doi/full/10.1200/jco.2014.55.6613

Reactions: 1 user
Doubtful the future is in further technology advances. Things like SBRT will continue to be important. Brachy may make more of a come-back. Overall the field will move more toward hypofractionation. Protons, Carbon ions, will have utility in some tumors but doubtful they will have significant clinical benefits over current forms in most cancers. I think the future will be in figuring out how to combine radiation with other forms of systemic therapy and exploiting the ascopal effect. Just had an immunotherapy pt in our dept have a great response in out of field lymph nodes after a short palliative course. Other area is radio-protection and radio-sensitization where we are largely behind as well.