What should I do to increase my chances of being accepted into top M.D./Ph.D programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

marns

Reaction score
I am a rising sophomore at a state school with a top - 35 med school (think UAB or Iowa). I am at this school primarily because it is close to home, I received a full ride scholarship, and I can be a “big fish”. I am double majoring in neuroscience and biophysics with a perfect GPA (so far). I have been performing neuroscience research at my current institution’s med school since the summer before my freshman year (I am expecting to publish my first time soon). In addition, I have volunteered a descent amount at the hospital (almost 150 hours so far) and have shadowed multiple physicians. I have observed that there are very few students at my college, if any, who can compete with me on the basis of research or performance. I am also confident in my ability to score quite high on the MCAT.
My main concern is that I will have an inherent disadvantage to students at top universities with a high premed density, like JHU or WashU. Is this a valid concern? Will the good reputation of my schools med school, my research, GPA, and MCAT scores be enough? What should I do to improve my chances when applying to top ranked MSTP programs?

Members don't see this ad.

Here's what the wise Sluox has to say on the topic (see quoted text below). Just replace "Harvard" with any other school and you're g2g!

Most of the above advice is really not helpful IMHO. Some asks you what will help you get into Harvard, you tell them 1) don't bother trying into get into Harvard 2) get a Rhode scholarship. wtf is that? Not helpful at all.

The real honest truth is that if you want to get into HST when you have nothing special going on, the only thing that would enhance your chance is relationship.