What schools should I apply to? 33P

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rockyDoctora

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have a 33P (14/7/12) and a near 3.9 cGPA and 4.0 sGPA. I'm a resident in NY and was wondering what schools I should be adding to my current list. I just graduated from a top 25 school known to have a very rigorous workload, especially in engineering, which is what I majored in. I've done my share of volunteering (both clinical and non-clinical), research (1 pending pub, 1 in its works), and other activities.

Here's my list so far:

Albany Medical College
Albert Einstein
Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
New York Medical College
NYU
SUNY Buffalo
SUNY Downstate
Stony Brook

What are my chances, and what schools do you guys recommend adding?
Thank a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'd recommend a retake of the MCAT. A 7 section score is going to keep you out of most MD schools.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm actually scheduled to retake in late July. Hopefully I can bring it up to a 9 or 10, but no guarantees :/
I'm still trying to compile my list of schools now so I can get verified. Any suggestions?

This might be SDN rumor, but I heard EVMS considers the cumulative MCAT score over the subsections. However, I have no clue if this is true, and can't find any reputable source to confirm it.

There are some schools in the MSAR with bottom 10% VR of 8, so those will probably be your best bet. Also, you can do what I did and call up a few schools. I asked if my low verbal would get me screened out, and whether my application would be still considered.

You don't need a list to get verified. You only need one school to submit and then add more later depending on your new mcat score