What happens if you don't match to residency in Canada or US?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BarryK

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a BSc student from Ottawa (finishing next year), thinking of applying for Sept. 2012.

I'm wondering if anyone knows about what % of Canadians who finish Irish Med School end up hitting a "dead end", where they don't get to use the Medical Degree at all.

- It looks like about 50% of those that try to get to Canada make a match, and get to do postgrad in US.
- Not sure what the % chance of making it into US, though overall is listed at about 50%. (source /www.internationaldoc.com/) Does anyone have a better estimate of this % number for Irish grads?
- You apparently cannot continue in Ireland (internship) unless you are an EU citizen

So if you fail to match in Canada or US, is that it (you've hit a dead-end, Medical career over)?

Or what else can you do to improve your chances in future matches, if you've finished school, but aren't able to intern/postrgrad in the Medical system in Ireland, Canada or US?

Barry

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Only 50%? I've read much higher numbers for Irish grads returning to North America. Someone claimed on a thread here that RCSI saw 100% back to NA somewhere. It is hard to find info. on this. Can you cite a source for the 50% number (I cannot for the RCSI one)?

>> Only 50%? I've read much higher numbers for Irish grads returning to North America.

Actually the #s I see in the Docs are closer to 20%. ie) if you go to Ireland to MedSchool, the chances of you coming back to Canada are about 20%.

Yes, http://www.caper.ca/docs/pdf_2005_2009(1)_img_dbase_report.pdf table 6, page 13. These list the number of FMG accepted to Canada post grad programs, from 2005 to 2009