What does it take to be competitive to get into hem/onc fellowship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mrdowntoearth

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year med student and very interested in going into hem/onc fellowship. I heard that you need to have great LORs, good research background and great board scores to be considered competitive. Now, I'm curious which board scores that they really look at? Is it all Step 1, 2 and 3 combined? or Step 3 mostly? or Internal Medicine Board Exam?

Also, does coming from community vs. univ-based hospital matter? I suppose doing IM residency in univ-based hospital helps because there are more opportunities in clinical research, but you can always get involved in research even when you're in comm-based hospital, right?

Any advice are greatly appreciated. Thanks

mrdowntoearth

Members don't see this ad.

The most important thing that fellowship directors look at is where you did your internal medicine residency. To have the best chance, it is worthwhile to come from a university based, well regarded program. Also, it is good when applying to internal medicine programs to look at if they are affiliated with a comprehensive cancer center or an NCI cancer center. Here, you will find the most accessability to research during residency but more than that, you will be able to work closely and hopefully get letters from clinicians that are well regarded in the field.

So, it is definetely better to come from a university program rather than community based as generally fellowship directors feel that you will be better trained. Also, as stated above, research probably will be very difficult in a community based program. Now having said that, i'm sure there are many who have attained hem/onc fellowships from community programs but it is more difficult.