What do you think of me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mcandy

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 30 yo non trad premed. I was a miserable undergrad engineering student (2.5), but in the last five years I have widdled away at prereq's for med school. I have had nothing but A's since my first education fumblings and have raised that miserable gpa to a 3.0 (maybe a little better). I am taking the august MCAT (1st time) and am just now finishing my preeq's (organic summer is a sweet way to go). I have been an EMT for 9 years working as a ski patroller/avalanche forecaster in CO.

Just curious what you guys think. Do I have a chance this year or should I wait for next and be right on top of June 1. I want to go to UNE (ME native/resident) and am really excited about DO.

Members don't see this ad.

I took the MCAT in August last year and applied to UNE in December. I interviewed in February and was accepted a short time later. I am not a ME resident, actually I am from TN, therefore I think you will have a decent shot at an interview this year if:

You do well on the MCAT
Have plenty of EC activities
Have good LOR

The fact that you are a native to ME works in your favor a great deal. If I were you, I would submit my application to UNE now, prepare for the MCAT thoroughly, and wait for your secondary. I think you have a pretty decent shot b/c you are a nontraditional student from ME with a decent GPA and, hopefully, respectable MCAT. Best Wishes on your endeavor.

JJ

PS I can't stress this enough: If you do well on the MCAT, you will have no problems. STUDY!

thank you...that is very encouraging

Members don't see this ad :)
Wow, it's good to see another ski patroller on the premed path! What mountain did you work at? I patrolled for three seasons at Snow Summit in Big Bear Lake, CA, where, needless to say, avalanche control was not exactly a priority.