This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mcash914

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore at a great school in North Carolina. I have a few questions. Do medical schools look at the difficulty of our undergraduate institutions? My school is definitely not the easiest, and I have heard many people say that. Should I forgo my pre-med classes to prevent further damage to my GPA? Currently, it is a 3.1. I am thinking about just doing a post bacc at an easier school to get my GPA up by retaking three and four classes and finishing my requirements. I would appreciate some input.

Members don't see this ad.

They do care about the prestige/difficulty of your undergrad, but it's still not enough to compensate for a low GPA. Do you have the money to just take all your pre-reqs at a post-bacc after graduation? They're not cheap...

They do care about the prestige/difficulty of your undergrad, but it's still not enough to compensate for a low GPA. Do you have the money to just take all your pre-reqs at a post-bacc after graduation? They're not cheap...
Due to a program at my current school, I will graduate practically debt free. So the debt that I would accumulate would be fine since it would not be adding to anything else...or so I assume.

Members don't see this ad :)
No, the perceived academic rigor of your undergrad is not going to help your 3.1 GPA, especially when your school is presumably putting out some 3.7+ applicants.

You should figure out why you are getting low grades before taking any additional pre-requisite classes. Take a lighter course load in the mean time to prevent any further damage to your GPA.
I think that my mental health is a factor in my grades. I am going to see someone about it later this year. If I receive a diagnosis, will medical schools understand?