What are your thoughts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Punchap

Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello:

I've recently posted on this forum, and value all of your thoughts and advice.

First off, I am a first-year student at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland. I was attracted to Case for its excellent science department. I am an Ohio resident therefore I am aiming to go to OSU for vet. school.

I am planning to take summer courses at OSU. Upon checking out their available courses, I became really jealous of all of the animal science classes they have to offer. I feel that in the future I may decide to transfer. Do you think this would be a good idea? Does the vet. school admissions committee prefer candidates from their own school or outside colleges?

Also, do any of you attend OSU or have suggestions on which courses would be particularly beneficial to take? I appreciate all of your responses. Thanks.

Punchap:thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

OSU, like all vet schools I would assume, doesn't give preference to its own students for admission. What courses you opt to take is pretty much your choice. If you want to take pre-req. classes, then you're looking at Bio, Chem, Physics, etc. I'm in my junior year here, and the animal science and eeob departments have great animal-related classes; they are not required for vet school admission, though. If you haven't already, check out OSU's Vet School Admission page. It gives a brief admission guide(it used to be better, but they changed it last year). If you click on 'Application Instructions' under How to Apply, you'll get a .pdf file listing all the pre-req. courses they require and a more detailed admission guide.