Vet med second thoughts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kthopefullydvm

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am currently a sophomore so I will be applying to vet schools for the first time next year. Recently though I’ve been having a lot of anxiety surrounding applying, getting in, and what happens afterward (I’m a generally anxious person so trying to think about lifelong career choices obviously is not easy).
So far I think I have a pretty good shot at getting in (on track for good experience hours, good grades, extracurriculars, etc) but I’m just very worried that I won’t be accepted and I have no idea what I would do as a career if that were to happen. I’ve always enjoyed science but there’s so many different options in science that it’s very overwhelming and I definitely want to work with animals somehow in my career.
These thoughts have also brought up other worries that maybe I shouldn’t even be a vet/don’t have what it takes. I’ve heard so many things about vet school being so stressful that it makes people lose passion for the field and that really worries me. But again, I have no idea what else to do as a career. I’ve always wanted to be a veterinarian, so I haven’t really thought about much else. I also want to stress that in my experience that I have so far working in a veterinary setting (mostly with vets at an animal shelter), I have really enjoyed it and I feel very in my element doing that kind of work.

I guess I’m just asking for advice. Has anyone gone through this worry spiral in the past/is going through this right now and has any tips? Are there other good career options with animals/science that anyone knows of?

I really appreciate any help you guys have to offer. Thanks for reading my scattered rant!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users