What are your thoughts on the proposed 2021 CMS policy changes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kirktodd0

5+ Year Member
Reaction score

And specifically this line is what I'm wondering about

In the FY 2021 IRF PPS proposed rule, CMS is proposing to allow non-physician practitioners to perform any of the IRF coverage service and documentation duties that are currently required to be performed by a rehabilitation physician, provided that the duties are within the non-physician practitioner’s scope of practice under applicable state law. CMS is also soliciting comments from stakeholders on further ideas to reduce provider burden, as well as on proposals to codify subregulatory guidance on preadmission screening documentation and certain other IRF coverage requirements.

As a disclaimer I'm just a student but does this look like a worrying trend? As midlevels' scope of practice continues to expand will IRFs just hire them instead of physicians to save money? We've already seen the VA decide to allow CRNAs to work unsupervised, a decision which was strongly opposed by the ASA.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'd expect it to happen at some time, if not this year or the next. This proposal isn't going to go away even if we fight it off year to year.

In my opinion, IPR is going to the hospitalists. Partially due to sicker patients, but also due to years of many physiatrist refusing to treat basic medical conditions or take call for medical issues. I think PM&R will eventually just be a consultant on patients only when the primary team needs help in management.