This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lazy Surgeon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I have just gotten my MCAT scores and I feel a bit ambiguous.
I am a third year INTERNATIONAL student at Queen's University, Canada.
MCAT: Chem/Phys 130, CARS 127, Bio/Bchm 131, Psyc/Soc 129, 517, overall.
cGPA: 3.87, scienceGPA: 3.96, Dean's list with Distinction

Please, tell me do I have any chances to get an interview at Harvard if I apply early enough?
Also in my dream list: Yale, Duke, Boston, Columbia University, Stanford, Geisel, Rosalind Franklin, Mayo

Some other facts for your consideration:
WORK:
2016-2018, Summer: around 1800 hours of the summer internship at Neurosurgery Department of the Azerbaijan Medical University over three consecutive summers, including:
- 200 hours as a research assistant
- 100 hours as a TS
- 800 hours of the Surgery Nurse Assistant, e. g. participating in real surgical procedures (is that even allowed in the US?)
- 200 hours of volunteering as a caregiver for the disabled and post-op patients (feeding, gymnastics)
-500 hours as the Physician Assistant (paperwork, changing bandages, shadowing the Doctor and doing what instructed, developing a Surgeon's website)
-2017-2018: Anatomy TA at Queen's, 2 hours/week
RESEARCH:
2014: INTEL ISEF finalist, IR absorption by coated semiconductors due to Franz-Keldysh effect
2014-2015: in Azerbaijan, Effect of vitamin D on pancreatic cancer 5-year survival rates (review).
2016-2017: High viscosity vertebroplasty application in the compressed vertebra. (part of the internship)
2017-2018: fMRI standardization methods.
2017-2018: Phage antibacterial therapy, applications of CRISPR.
2017: presentation: STI and risk of ectopic pregnancy
2014: Patent on development of Counter-current multiplier loop for cryogenic energy storage systems
VOLUNTEERING:
2014-2015: 1000 hours, GI Physician, Volunteer in a local clinic, Baku