DO WAMC? URM (3.45/3.24) / 494

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zpak19

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am a URM Florida resident. Fluent in Spanish and English.

Graduated from my state university in 2017:

cGPA 3.45
sGPA 3.24

Took the MCAT twice. Voided first time, 494 second time.

~3,000 hrs as a scribe and medical assistant in an urgent care clinic
~700 hrs as volunteer in the hospital
~400 hrs as interpreter in a free clinic

Heavily involved in my school's music program and held a leadership position

LOR from an MD, two science profs, my music program director, and two volunteer coordinators

I want to stay in Florida/ the southeast if possible.

Your honest input would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
ECs are great and so you can write a good personal statement and work and activities section. Probs need a post bacc and a 500 to get in.

You will need an MCAT retake. If you can score a 500+, you may have a shot at a few DO programs. If you can score a 507+, you may have a shot at your state MD programs. You should not apply this cycle unless you plan on retaking the MCAT before then. I studied for the MCAT for 8 months and went from a 492 to a 515 so you can do it!

Members don't see this ad :)
You need to retake the MCAT before you apply and score at least 500. What were the section scores of your 494 ? Do not retake until your practice scores are consistently over 500.

Reactions: 1 user
You need to retake the MCAT before you apply and score at least 500. What were the section scores of your 494 ? Do not retake until your practice scores are consistently over 500.

121/125/124/124

If I get around 503-505 would you advise me to apply at that point? and which schools would be best? should I bother with MD schools at all?

Thanks, Faha.

121/125/124/124