WAMC Non-Trad/Vet 3.48/522

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

markedhornbill

Reaction score
Hello SDN friends,

Currently active duty, looking to apply in the '24 cycle. Some family health issues that have developed over the past few years have me wanting to move home to the DC/Baltimore area. This is extremely important to me. I graduated from the Naval Academy a couple of years ago, I was interested in medicine in undergrad but ultimately decided to join the submarine force. Training post-graduation included Nuclear Power School, where we take a bunch of college-level science and engineering courses (e.g. physics, thermodynamics, EE, material science, reactor dynamics, and nuclear engineering) before training on an operational reactor plant. I'm planning on applying to Georgetown, UMD, GWU, and Johns Hopkins. Limited number I know, but in addition to staying around DC/Baltimore I'll be writing my primary and secondaries on deployment. I'll be able to put sufficient attention and time into four applications, I think quality would suffer as I start to add schools.

Requested information to include when creating a WAMC thread are as follows:
  1. cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS
    1. 3.48, B.S. in Chemistry
  2. MCAT score(s) and breakdown
    1. 522 (130/132/128/132) 9/9 2023
  3. State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US)
    1. MD
  4. Ethnicity and/or race
    1. White, male
  5. Undergraduate institution or category
    1. Service Academy
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)
    1. 400 hours clinical volunteering at major military hospitals, a rural hospital in Wyoming, and a VA healthcare center in my hometown. I'm confident I can get another 100 hours or so before I apply.
    2. Wilderness EMT certified
  7. Research experience and productivity
    1. Undergraduate biochemistry research ~260 hours, two poster presentations, no pubs.