WAMC/School List/Non-Trad Reinvention Reapplicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jstkeepswimming

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am looking for some advice on my chances and what else I can do to improve. I am a California resident and an ORM. I am reposting as I secured a new job and am looking for more opinions.

GPA: GPA/Hours (this is my BCPM gpa, my everything else included cgpa is very close to this one, 3.04).
1705275473318.png

A little background: I was just an unfocused student and a majority of my bad grades are from community college (almost 10 years ago now). I started turning it around in senior year at my state school (a UC) and then maintained a 4.0 during my 60 credit hour post-bacc (upper division science classes only).

MCAT:
My first attempt in 2022 was a 509 (126/128/127/128)
Second attempt in 2023 was a 513 (127/126/131/129)
Legitimately considering retaking because I was scoring 517+ on my practice exams, and I feel I can do much better.

Non-clinical volunteering:
- Big Brothers/Sisters of America since 2019 (mentoring a child from a rough background) ~ should have roughly 700+ hours by the time the 2024 app cycle rolls around
- School on Wheels (weekly tutoring of disadvantaged children) - should have ~ 50 hours by June 2024
- Homeless shelter volunteer - haven't officially started this yet but anticipating ~ 100 hours by June 2024

Clinical:
Health Scholar at local hospital (similar to MA) ~ 180 hours
Research assistant for my alma mater's SOM where we worked on opening a free clinic ~ 120 hours (poster pub)
NEW: I started a full time scribe job and should have 500+ hours by the time the application cycle opens in June of 2024

Other Hobbies:
- Piano since age 17
- Gardening for a few years now
- Big on reading