DO WAMC/ DO list 3.05 cGPA 3.43, sGPA, 504 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Harold Flower

Reaction score
Howdy, y'all

I just received my MCAT score, 504 (126/123/128/127). I am a semi-nontraditional student who decided to pursue medicine after finishing a separate degree 3 years ago. I have already sent out my app to several schools (VCOMs, UNECOM, PCOM, LECOM). I was wondering which additional programs I should apply to and if anyone had any further advice for possibly improving my app if I don't get in this cycle. I do not have a strong preference for a location, as I really just want to be a physician at the end of the day.

Undergraduate degree- B.S. in Accounting

GPA- cGPA 3.05, sGPA 3.43. I have a strong trend in my cGPA, Freshman 1.94, Sophmore, 2.21, Junior 3.27, Senior 3.65. My senior year includes my last 120 credit hours, so I did finish strong despite a poor start due to my lack of focus in my early years. My science GPA also has a strong trend as I performed well in my pre requires. I am still taking graduate science classes to improve my content knowledge and science GPA, but there is not much I can do to improve my cGPA as I have taken around 240 credits as a student and have already worked hard to get my cGPA above a 3.00

Age & Ethnicity- Not sure if it matters, but 27 and caucasian.

State residency- Maine

Undergraduate degree location- Virginia

EC's- I have 300+ volunteering hours (assisted living home for the elderly, biology tutor at my college, mentoring kids at my local juvenile corrections facility). I also have around 150 hours of research experience. No publications, but I did present a poster on my research.

Clinical experience- Besides 60 hours of shadowing at an orthopedics clinic, I do not have clinical experience. Hopefully, I will be able to gain some clinical experience this year, but not sure how the COVID situation will affect that.