WAMC: Applying for Summer 2025 Cycle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spicy Noodles

Reaction score
Hi Guys, I wanted to make this post to assess my competitiveness for med school. I'm currently a sophomore. I plan to apply Summer of 2025 (during my junior year) and matriculate straight through from undergrad to medical school. Shooting for either MD or MD-PhD. Is this app good enough for a mid-tier MD school that is good at matching students to competitive surgery residencies?

Demographic:

ORM, First-Gen, Male

Stats:

GPA:

MCAT: Plan to take Spring 2025, Projecting 508-510

EC's:

Research:

1 year of psychology research (200 hours)

1+ year of basic science research (300 hours)

2 Summer REU's (1st year was Clinical Research, Computational Research this year)

10+ Poster Presentations combined between all research experiences (80% Uni conferences, 20% National + Regional conferences)

Non-Clinical Volunteering: 200 hours (Tutoring K-12 Students) and Uni Students in Bio + Chem

Clinical Volunteering: 500 hours from various hospitals from the beginning of college to now. Might include my high school hours which brings this up to this value.

Shadowing: 100 hours spread between 3 specialties (Ophtho, Heme-Onc, Surgery)

Leadership:

Orientation Leader (1 Semester)

TA for Gen Chem Students (1 Semester)

Admissions Reviewer (1 Semester)

2 E-Board Officer Positions for humanitarian organizations (1 year each)

Planning to do from now until applying:

Looking for a hospital job (PCT or Transporter)

Any places that I can improve in besides gaining some more clinical experience? I noticed my app doesn't have an aligning theme with my current experiences. I've just done a lot of stuff but I'm confident I can make a connecting theme when I apply. Brutally honest feedback would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.