WAMC 23-24 Cycle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peanutisacat

2+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I would hope your home team at Columbia could pull you through. Talk to their admissions team.

Do you think I should start by asking the doctor I’ve worked with if there’s anyone on the admission team that he might know? Thanks for the advice!

Members don't see this ad :)
Date of submission: 23-24 cycle
Overall GPA: 3.74 (undergrad)
DAT score (include AA and all sections): 26AA/27TS/25PAT
State of Residence: international

Undergrad Attended: nyu
Major: bio
Minor: math
Minority? No
Reapplicant? No
Nontrad? Yes, I’m doing my master’s in biostatistics at columbia. Chose this major because I don’t want dental school to be too practical. I want to get involved in dental research and integrate data science into dentistry

Shadowing Experience: 100hrs shadow general dentist, 100hrs shadow omfs
Volunteering Experience: 200hrs as bedside volunteer at a children’s hospital
Employment: bio lab TA for 2 years, part-time dental assistant (July2022-Now, 200hrs maybe?)
Research: 1.5yrs as RA in a bioengineering lab and studied CAR-T cell growth in microfluidic device; no pub, 1 school poster; soon will have dentistry-related research in grad school
Other Extracurriculars: 0.5yr as treasurer and 1yr as president in school prehealth club
Relevant Honors or Awards: dean’s list for 4 years

LOR type and strength: 2 science profs, 1 lab PI, 1 strong rec from Columbia dentist and prof
Misc Info/Things not stated elsewhere/Red Flags: nah
School list: NYU, stony brook, u of Michigan, USC, UCLA, BU, Temple, UPenn, CWRU, UCSF, Tufts, Columbia (my top 1🥹), harvard (most likely a waste of $$)

Are there any schools that I can add to the list?
take off NYU and USC...

Can I ask why?