MD & DO WAMC 2019-2020 Cycle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sciencegirl1998

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm a current senior looking to apply to medical school in May. I'm an undergrad in PA majoring in Bio with a minor in neuro and chemistry. I'm graduating a semester early with an overall gpa of 3.64 and sgpa of 3.57. I've had to retake 2 classes, one due to having a disolacted knee issue that semester. Besides that there's only one other C+ on my transcript with everything else being As and Bs I have over 500 hours on non-clinical volunteering and 300 hours of shadowing and clinical volunteering. I've held numerous leadership positions, have a doctor's LOR, and have 3 science professors LOR. I also have my own research project i"ve been working on for 2.5 years. I suffered a really bad knee injury my sophmore year. I'm taking the MCAT (hopefully) in January and March, but I might push the January one. I was wondering what score I would need to be competitive for an MD school or if I could only apply DO? In addition, I wanted advice on whether to work as a research assistant or do a postbacc? My top choices are Penn State, Drexel, Temple, University of Arizona, Tufts, Rush, and Rutgers.

Members don't see this ad.

DO NOT plan on taking the MCAT more than once from the get-go. This is not like the SAT where you can take it multiple times without consequence. Although many people do end up taking it more than once, you do not want to go in with the mindset that this will be your plan to. You want to prepare for it to the point where you are consistently scoring in your ideal range on multiple practice tests. THEN you want to perform to the best of your ability on the real thing the first time you take it, and go from there.