Veterinarian to MD/DO path, advice requested!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vmdtomd

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's my stats and history-
Undergraduate: 3.61c GPA, 3.38sGPA @ Washington State Univ.
Vet School: 3.3c GPA, 3.08sGPA @ University of Pennsylvania graduated 2011
508 MCAT: 124 CPBS , 129 CARS, 127 Bio, 128 Psych/Social
State: SD, but strong ties to PA

I applied narrowly to 3 schools, all late in the cycle (Sep/Oct) since MCAT taken in August. to Univ. South Dakota (interviewed & rejected). Still haven't heard from Temple/Drexel, but I'm not holding my breath.

I did a lot of APs in high school (got 28cr) so I completed my undergraduate degree in 2.5 yrs. My first year I was a D1 rower, which was a substantial time commitment. During my second semester I fractured my back in the course of training (recovery took 2 semesters) and that combined with my undergraduate ECs, working 20hr / wk and full course load, my grades suffered ( I got a couple B, B+s and a C in Biochem). After graduation I worked full time in a non-health related job (to make a little money I could live off of during vet school). I scored well on my GRE (590 verbal, 730 Quantitative, 5.5 Analytical), taken for vet school.