UTSW vs BCM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HiDoc88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Both are terrific programs in Texas. Anyone who has had experiences interviewing or doing residency at either program care to comment?

Members don't see this ad.

** making popcorn **

Oh boy. Will be following.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm a resident on UTSW in IM and I can tell you this program is awesome. I love it here so far and could not have asked for a better group of individuals to work with and learn from. Its a top notch residency program across the board, but particularly in IM. You learn by seeing a LOT and building confidence. Academics are key with great didactics.

In regards to some of the "malignant rumors" that SDN has apparently spread in the past, I cant speak to the program 10 years ago, at which time UTSW (and really most residency programs) were vastly different with ACGME changes, but let it be known--this place is NOT malignant; it is certainly a place where you will work hard but I absolutely love my co-residents and seniors too. The new PD we have this year is an incredibly caring and thoughtful guy and seems to really make an effort to dispel some false claims.

The program has been very dynamic recently with multiple new changes implemented--specifically 4 +1 and an ambulatory didactic curriculum to address gaps in outpatient fund of knowledge. Chiefs are very hard working, approachable and responsive.