USMLE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ojey

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first yr medical student. I want to go into surgery and I would like to know USMLE score to aim for

Members don't see this ad.

Why the best score you can get of course! ;)

Traditionally, the thinking was that you needed 1 standard deviation above the mean to get into a surgical residency. General Surgery is not as competitive as it once as. However, this "rule" is still true for some of the more competitive general surgery programs and the more competitive subspecialties of Ortho, Neuro, Plastics, ENT, etc. Some schools require a certain score (ie, > 220). Since the mean for Step 1 is around 212 (I think) you should shoot for a score greater than 220, although bear in mind that a competitive application isn't all about your USMLE scores.

good luck. :D

keep in mind young lad that USMLE scores should be used for certification and licensing purposes only and Not for program directors to stratify candidates into the ones they want and the ones they dont want. IF they do that you dont want to be there anyway. That is why they have class rank and grades like honors pass/ fail. YOu are not in medschool to get a good grade on the usmle but to learn as much as you can and this reflects in your clerkship evals.....

Originally posted by Justin4563:
•keep in mind young lad that USMLE scores should be used for certification and licensing purposes only and Not for program directors to stratify candidates into the ones they want and the ones they dont want. IF they do that you dont want to be there anyway. That is why they have class rank and grades like honors pass/ fail. YOu are not in medschool to get a good grade on the usmle but to learn as much as you can and this reflects in your clerkship evals.....•