Using Instructional Design Principles to Improve Anatomy Education

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Katrina Dash

Reaction score
Dear Student Doctor Network Community,

I am a current student in Medical and Health Professions Education as well as an Instructional Designer at a medical school, and former anatomy professor. As a student passionate about anatomy and education, I have utilized several strategies through my work as an Instructional Designer that can make learning anatomy more engaging, effective, and enjoyable. As part of an assignment for one of my courses, I would like to share some of those strategies with a wider community.

Instructional design involves the systematic development of instructional materials and activities to facilitate learning. Here are some techniques that I believe can be leveraged in many anatomy education settings:

1. Visual Learning Aids: Utilizing visual aids such as diagrams, models, and multimedia presentations can help students grasp complex anatomical structures more easily. These aids can be integrated into lectures, online modules, or laboratory sessions to provide a comprehensive understanding of anatomical concepts.
  2. Interactive Learning Activities: Incorporating interactive activities like case studies, group discussions, and virtual anatomy software can promote active learning and critical thinking. These activities encourage students to apply their knowledge to real-world scenarios, reinforcing their understanding of anatomy.
  3. Adaptive Learning Platforms: Implementing adaptive learning platforms that personalize the learning experience based on individual student needs can optimize learning outcomes. These platforms can identify areas of strength and weakness, providing targeted feedback and additional resources to support student learning.