Use savings $$ to lower loans or contribute to a Roth?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OoohShiny

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm hoping some of you financially savvy folks can help me out. So I'm a recent college grad, working full time for another 1.5 years before matriculating med school (if all goes as planned of course!)

The most immediately pressing question is whether I should contribute to Roth for the 2012 tax year. (And if so, if I should put in the full $5000 limit) I will be able to put in 5k this year and 5k next year - making for 10k in the Roth before I enter med school. Obviously I doubt I'll be contributing while in med school.

So, is it worth having that 10k in the Roth and leaving it to grow until I retire? (Option A)
Or is it better to use the 10k to lower the amount of loans I'll have to take out(which will be on the order of ~250k)? (Option B)

I've tried reading a bit and see people suggesting "rolling the Roth" for school tuition so perhaps that's Option C? I'm super confused by this though!

PS The idea of not being able to save at all really for retirement for 8 years (med school + residency) makes me nervous. So that's kind of where the whole jumping onto the Roth wagon comes from :)

Also, I'm saving quite a bit and wondering what is best to do with it - I should have around 25k by matriculation, any suggestions on what to do with my current savings (15k) for the next 1.5yr? Savings accounts have abysmal rates....

Thanks everyone! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in a similar situation, recent college grad who's worked for the past 2 years and is going to med school this fall, and I'd be curious to hear input as well.