USDO vs Canadian MD vs Australian MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

John1356

Reaction score
Hi,

I am in a little bit of a dilemma. I am an international Pre-med student here in the US. I did my Bachelors and Masters Degrees in the US. I recently got acceptances from a couple of med schools in different countries. One of them is a top-tier USDO school. The second is a Canadian MD school. The third is a top-tier MD school in Australia (a top 30 MD school globally). My ultimate goal is to match into a competitive US residency (probably surgical) and practice here in the US. I was wondering which med school out of three would be the best to match into a competitive speciality and practice in the US. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think it's quite that simple.

The Australian school is clearly the wrong choice. Well peforming IMG's can get community GS and some mid tier Univ GS, but top tier GS and anything in the competitive surgical subs would be very difficult / impossible.

So you're left with US DO and Can MD - not a common choice. I assume you're a Canadian citizen, since getting into a Can MD for non citizens is very difficult. I would look closely at grads from the DO and see what type of surgical residencies they have gotten -- all schools post their match results. You would also be on an F visa during your DO, which may make getting a visa for residency easier.

Can MD, if you're a Canadian citizen, would open the option of a Canadian residency also. So you'd be able to apply to CaRMS as well as NRMP if you desired. If you do a Can MD, then you would absolutely want to do some US rotations also.

In all cases, needing a visa will limit your options.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Go to the Canadian allopathic school and practice in Canada. You will be better off in the long run.

Reactions: 1 users