Unprofessional vs personal style

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nitvbasgims12

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a female medical student and my school has fairly strict guidelines for professional behavior and, in particular, our professional outfits for our clinical skills or meetings. It is a very forward thinking school and highly values diversity but I am wondering to what extent that reaches and how patients may react to different grooming standards. Is it unprofessional for a woman to not shave her legs and wear an otherwise appropriate skirt or dress? Likewise, is it unprofessional to not wear a bra? I don't think I personally am bold enough to not shave my legs or forego a bra at these sessions but I was wondering if anyone had experience with these? While we are supposed to maintain a well-groomed appearance, men generally do not shave their legs (although this is generally not visible) nor do they generally wear bras. Do doctors have to sacrifice personal preferences for their appearance in order to maintain a "professional" appearance?

Members don't see this ad.

I’m a dude, so I don’t fully understand how the bra thing works but it seems like a bad idea to not wear a bra. I guess it could be fine if your clothing fabric is thick enough, but many times this seems to result in a woman’s nipples being visible through their clothing. That is definitely not acceptable in a professional workplace, so if there’s any risk of that happening, I would say that’s a hard no. The shaving thing is less clear cut. That probably partly depends on how noticeable it is going to be. If you have coarse, dark, body hair and light skin, people are going to notice if you don’t shave your legs. Some of those people will have traditional views and find it off-putting.