University of Maryland vs.GW medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kshaya

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was lucky enough to be accepted to both University of Maryland and GW Med Schools! I am a Virginia/DC Resident, so I would have to pay OOS at Maryland for at least the first year but could then potentially get in state status after that first year. What are your opinions on the two schools and why would you choose one over the other? Any blaring discrepancies between their residency matching that you know of? Thanks for the help!!:)

Members don't see this ad.

If you could get instate residency after a year it's worth it. GW is nothing special and was put on probation a couple years ago.

If you could get instate residency after a year it's worth it. GW is nothing special and was put on probation a couple years ago.

I wouldn't worry about the probation thing.

But GW is A LOT of money.

Members don't see this ad :)
I wouldn't worry about the probation thing.

But GW is A LOT of money.

Being on probation in itself is not what I'd be concerned about, however it suggest that perhaps the quality of the program leaves something to be desired. Personally, I don't think GW is worth the money over Maryland unless you REALLY hated Maryland.

I have a choice between Maryland and another school (similar ranking/etc. to GW). PM me if you want to talk about Maryland a little since I've been weighing pros and cons too!
Congrats!!!

Cant say much for GW, other than it's expensive and they have those track programs that may by interesting.