University of Illinois Chicago

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Elahuhu

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Maybe someone has already talked about UIC, but has anybody either rotated thru there or interviewed there? I did not apply there because of several negatives I had heard (FMGs, malignant), but a buddy interviewed there and loved it. So I ended up sending an application, but now I'm not sure if I should schedule an interview or not-- I'm getting pretty tired of this interview trail!

Please let me know what any of you think/know about UIC.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently a fourth year med student at UIC. I've done my M3 clerkship here and my sub-I at the VA. I've also done a GI consult month, a Pulmonary consult month, and a Renal consult month all at the UIH.

The medicine program here is great. I'm ranking it second behind University of Chicago and definitely ahead of Northwestern.

The residents are good and there's a really laid back atmosphere. They're all really nice and quite friendly. I actually hang out with many of the interns and they always seem to be doing stuff together outside the hospital. The faculty tend to be fairly young, especially at the VA. Everyone gets their work done, everyone learns, but it's all done in a really relaxed environment.

Call is q6 on the floor and q4 in the units. Talking to many of my med student friends from other Chicago schools, I'm convinced that UIC is the easiest university program in Chicago. In fact, I heard that the PGY-3s take the least amount of call of any university medicine program in Chicago.