Undergrad Student Seeking Opinions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dermdill

Reaction score
I am currently a Junior bio-med student in undergrad with plans on taking my first MCAT this spring. I have taken two diagnostic tests and have scored 485 both times. I fear that the MCAT is going to hold me back from acceptances. I have a semi-decent GPA of 3.5, a few hundred clinical hours, lots of different shadowing hours, a good chunk of volunteer hours, I am working on a (most likely to be) published research project, and I am a student-athlete. I just wonder if a poor MCAT score will outweigh everything else. I am doing blueprint's self-paced courses in prep for my MCAT and I just do not think I am retaining the information. I know everyone is different and med school applications are so case-by-case but I fear so much about the MCAT. I so desperately do not want to take a gap a year after undergrad. I am just super stressed and would love to hear other's thoughts on this process as I do not know anyone who is or who has gone through this process.

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome to SDN! I'm glad you found us before submitting your application.

There are a few things you need to understand about the med school admissions process. First, they are looking for someone who is going to be a successful STUDENT--so while everything matters, at the end of the day the academic metrics (GPA & MCAT) are the most important parts of your application as they give the best approximation of how you will perform in medical school. No matter how nice and caring of a person you may be, it makes no sense to give a spot to someone who either cannot handle the academic rigor of medical school or pass other high-stakes standardized tests (i.e. after the MCAT there is the USMLE steps 1-3, then your board exams for your specialty). If either one of these numbers is below a certain metric, you won't be considered.