UMD v. Hopkins

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stevens28

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm deciding between attending Maryland on a full-tuition scholarship or Hopkins. I'm a nontraditional student with 90K in undergraduate debt. I like Baltimore (but am compelled by the opportunity to attend school in either NYC (at Cornell) or Chicago (Pritzker). I am not particularly interested in super competitive fields like derm or surgery. I see myself going into ID or oncology. What I want from a medical school are an engaging and interesting student body (that skews slightly older), opportunities to find mentors and train at a top notch hospital, and the resources necessary to receive a top residency and become a leader in medicine and health policy. As you can imagine, graduating with over 300K in debt is a serious concern as it may constrict the fields I can go into. I appreciate your thoughts on the matter. I am grateful to have a few solid choices and know there's no right or wrong answer.

Members don't see this ad.

I would go to UMD on a full scholarship in a heartbeat, especially if I were already carrying nearly 100K in undergrad loans.

Also, moving to School Specific Discussions.

Hopkins is an opportunity that very few get...200K (figuring about the price of a full ride) is a lot of money but depending on what field you are going to go into you will be making this...any maybe much more in one year. Hopkins is the best, and if you want to be considered one of the best and a leader in the field then you should go to the best school. I realize money is important in a decision but the opportunities that will be given to you by attending Hopkins I believe are priceless....This is just my opinion, and keep in mind that this is coming from someone only deciding between mid-tier schools and would never be considered at Hopkins.