UCC Fall 2004 - Which residence?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sage880

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, first of all I'd just like to say hi to all the people heading to UCC for this fall! I can't wait. I'm a Canadian student (Ontario) and I spent 6 months living in Dublin but I've never been to Cork. I saw some other students who will be heading there as well on some other threads (trapper12 for one) so if there are any others post a quick hello!

Also, thanks a bunch to Grover and Kaptain Krunch for their advice and suggestions on what to expect! The only thing I got a mixed message on was the residences and how far they are from things. The UCC package basically shows a mini-mart of some kind right next to CastleWhite and someone said that CastleWhite was the closest to town with the other residences being 10 minutes farther away.

I'd love to get an idea where everything is. From the maps it looks like "The Spires" is closest to town with Victoria lodge and Farranlea Hall being further away then Castlewhite. Are they all equally close to shopping? Are they all pretty much the same in terms of quality? Which residence would you suggest to an incoming international student from Canada?

Thanks a bunch! See you all in the fall!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi

As for residences, the only one available now is Farranlea Hall. From what I hear this a fairly new residence (Vic lodge also) and the bedrooms have their own bathroom. This was a must for me! Castlewhite is older and has communal facilities. I choose Farranlea because I have a friend that has lived there and he was very pleased. Check out http://www.ucc.ie/campusaccommodation/ for more info. Let me know if you have anymore questions!