U of T recognized as challenging

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cutiepie83

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Out of curiosity, does anyone know if U of T is recognized in the US for its challenging education? I graduated with a 3.02 and am applying to several schools in the US, and I would like to know if they do look at the school from which I graduated and assess my GPA relatively.

Members don't see this ad.

cutiepie83 said:
Out of curiosity, does anyone know if U of T is recognized in the US for its challenging education? I graduated with a 3.02 and am applying to several schools in the US, and I would like to know if they do look at the school from which I graduated and assess my GPA relatively.

How do you figure U of T is "challenging"?

This is all relative to schools in Canada. I'm not quite sure how the schools in US function, but relative to other schools in Canada, U of T is recognized for its challenging education. Getting an A in that school is almost an impossible task if you decide to retain your social life. Years of classes with 1200 students and impersonal courses where I never even met the TA who marked my papers really did take a toll on my GPA.

The thing with U of T is that it is very appealing to Canadians and international students all over the world, not only for its recognized reputation, but for its inexpensive tuition and for the inexpensive life in Toronto. Also, U of T is known to be the #1 research institution in Canada, making it much more attractive to International students. How do I know? well because I befriended many internationals who tell me that U of T is very well known in their country, particularly students from China. That being said, not only is it very appealing to attend, but also competitive to enter, and so they must pick amongst the best Canadian and international students.