Trying to figure out the best route to go, Masters or PhD/Psy.D, as well as career options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychbot1

Reaction score
I'm currently looking into the best route to go for becoming a practicing psychologist. I have a bachelors from UC Davis in psychology with a 3.3 GPA, one year working as a behavioral therapist, and a few internships/volunteer positions. I wasn't sure if this was my route when in college so I didn't go too hard at the direction. I've been out of school for about two years now just working and am curious about the next step.

Ideally I would like to work in a private practice as a LCSW. I love the intersection of mental health and sociology, but from what I've read it's not something that's much in demand. I also have seen that private practices are generally something done after you retire to continue making some money on the side, as they aren't reliable or high paying.

So my question is, what is the closest things to my interest in the field with the best pay? What program would best fit this goal?

I'm seeing that most positions offering 80k and up are usually at counseling firms or agencies. How common is this? How competitive is it?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently looking into the best route to go for becoming a practicing psychologist. I have a bachelors from UC Davis in psychology with a 3.3 GPA, one year working as a behavioral therapist, and a few internships/volunteer positions. I wasn't sure if this was my route when in college so I didn't go too hard at the direction. I've been out of school for about two years now just working and am curious about the next step.