Trying to figure out the best path for me (help appreciated)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Haywinfield

Reaction score
I apologize in advance if this is a repetitive question. I did some searching on the forums and didnt see anything specifically relevant to what I am asking, and google search just turns up a bunch of fake blogs and grad school sites that are clearly advertisements for Alliant.

I graduated with a BA in writing in 2013 and have kind of strayed from the path due to some struggles of my own with depression and drug addiction. The result is, I have a writing degree, but am want to go into clinical psych and find meaningful work. And I feel it is an area where I can really provide some skill and expertise.

I want to help others, but I also want to be able to afford my own apartment as I am 30 years old at this point. I see median salary reports for MSW and MFT that say 45k and am nervous... I make 60k at my current sales job and that barely enough to be comfy with a 1br in california. I am trying to do research and determine the best course of action, as I keep seeing conflicting things telling me to do MFT, or MSW, or PSYD. I feel I may have waited too long, as the prospect of spending 3 years on psych masters and then doing psyd for 4+ is a lot of time to get things going. I want to be working with individuals or in a challenging and rewarding environment. Most interesting to me is substance abuse counseling/case management, psychology for prison populations or forensic psych, private practice therapy. I know this is a wide variance... but I would like to get a quality education that opens the most doors for me while losing the least amount of years. Tuition costs may not be an issue as I will get some family support.