Translational Motion Passage & A few of the questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arc5005

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm really struggling with my Physics review. Physics is by far my weakest link in the pre-med reqs.

I took Physics I ~4-5 years ago, and took Physics II about 1.5 years ago. Getting a B and A respectively, but not truly understanding the concepts. I'm a little concerned, but trying to do my best and I'm currently studying from The Berkeley Review books and Khan Academy. I have a few shortcomings and a few concepts and algebra basics that I just don't remember. I probably took algebra like 7 years ago.

Important information from passage:
  • studying the effect of throwing 1-kg stone horizontally from the top of a 20-m rocket
  • For different trials: A, B, C, and D
  • Stone A and B are thrown from the top of the rocket while on earth
  • Stone C and D are thrown from the top of the rock while on another planet, with half the gravitational force of the earth & the same atmospheric composition.
Data:

Stone A, g= 9.8 m/s^2, Vi = 10.0 m/s
Stone B, g= 9.8 m/s^2, Vi = 5.0 m/s
Stone C, g= 4.9 m/s^2, Vi = 10.0 m/s
Stone D, g= 4.9 m/s^2, Vi = 5.0 m/s

This was a 7 part question, in which I got 4 of the questions wrong and 3 correct. Below are the three of the 4 I got incorrect that I am struggling with:

1: If Stone C were thrown instead from a rocket is four times as tall as Galileo's, the stone would remain in flight

A. Twice as long
B. √2 times as long
C. Just as long
D. Four times as long

I chose D. Correct answer is A. I erased my thought process, so I could copy their thought process into the answer, so I don't have the original reasoning of what I did, but I'm having some trouble understanding why this is the correct answer...