Transfer LMFT/LPCC license b/w CA and WA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

_misosoup

Reaction score
Hello,

I plan to apply for an LMFT program in CA this fall, but I have questions about license portability. My plan is to obtain a license and practice in CA first, and then move to Seattle or somewhere in Washington state in a few years, as I've always wanted to live there. In CA, there is a significant Japanese community, and being a Japanese therapist, I wish to maintain my practice there while also practicing in WA. I'm unsure whether I should start my studies in CA and then transfer to WA, or vice versa. I'm also unsure if WA state truly fit me.

Has anyone transferred their LMFT or LPCC license between these two states? How difficult is the process? Which state do you recommend I start with?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I plan to apply for an LMFT program in CA this fall, but I have questions about license portability. My plan is to obtain a license and practice in CA first, and then move to Seattle or somewhere in Washington state in a few years, as I've always wanted to live there. In CA, there is a significant Japanese community, and being a Japanese therapist, I wish to maintain my practice there while also practicing in WA. I'm unsure whether I should start my studies in CA and then transfer to WA, or vice versa. I'm also unsure if WA state truly fit me.

Has anyone transferred their LMFT or LPCC license between these two states? How difficult is the process? Which state do you recommend I start with?
I imagine LMFT or LPCC licenses are similar to psychologist licenses in this respect, in that you don't really transfer your license so much as you just apply for an additional license in the other state(s). You can then choose if you want to keep the other state license active or voluntarily relinquish it (which I would strongly recommend doing rather than just letting it lapse).