To waterloo applicants

optgurl

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I just took my oat and totally messed up on the RC part (320 :mad:), but my overall score was 330 (still :mad:). This is my first time applying to Optometry at waterloo, and was wondering if anyone knew how competitive it is at waterloo (seeing that its the only school in canada offering optometry), is my oat score gonna be a real downer?? Is there anyone who has gotten accepted into waterloo with a low oat score?? i really wish canada had more than 1 school with optometry lol:eek:......oh, and my g.p.a. is around 82.5%ish

Members don't see this ad.

well the average OAT score to get in last year was 370, and the year before that 360. But just remember that half of the people accepted were below those scores! Just make sure you have lots of shadowing hours so you can impress them on your interview!:thumbup:

hey andrea are you a waterloo student? hmm i would email them and ask them about it

btw there are two optometry schools in canada- universite de montreal and waterloo so you do have a choice depends if you will learn french to go to montreal for it but most of downtown montreal is anglo but of course quebecers hate that..... hehehe

hmmm they changed their system a bit this year but i am not sure what our chances are if we are not

ontario residents + waterloo grad + with a gpa higher than 3.9 and oat higher than 370 and with some optometry experience.....

Hey,

Yeah I was considering applying to the Montreal University Optometry, but considering the last time I took french was in grade 11.....not sure how that's gonna work out hehe:rolleyes:. BTW, Is the program taught in english or french ( I just assumed in french...)???? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)
c'est comme ca- quand on es en montreal, on parle en francais, on pense en francais et oui, universite de montreal- c;est certainment en francais!!!