Tips for freshman pre-med, what should i be doing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sharklog71

Reaction score
I'm a freshman bio major (doubling in a liberal arts major as well) in a top public university, and I'm just looking for advice on what to focus on in order to maximize my chances of getting into medical school by the end of my undergrad journey.

I'm planning to complete gen bio and bio lab, gen chem, biostats, psychology and sociology by the end of freshman year, along with my general english requirements and stuff from college. I'm also planning to take orgo, upper level bio, a&p, physics, and a semester of biochem next year, not sure what else I should finish before starting mcat studying. I've taken AP chem, bio, physics c so at least for the gen science courses I'm mostly cruising by for right now.

In terms of extracurriculars:
I'm taking an EMT course right now to get certified by ~January/February, and hopefully I'll start actually working by the start of next year if possible. Not sure if I'll work this summer or try to do some sort of research program instead.
I'm volunteering weekly at a local hospital, and I'm probably going to pick up another volunteering shift at a local clinic.
I have shadowing set up soon and aim to have ~50 hours by the end of this semester. I have ~20 hours from the summer just from a single exchange with a doctor, and ~100 from high school which I don't think I can keep.