Thoughts on SMP programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jole89

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

So here's what is going through my head right now. I completed my B.S. in Biological Sciences and a minor in Medical Anthropology June 2018 with a cumulative 3.14, amcas sgpa 2.79, and aacomas sgpa 2.88 took the MCAT 3 times and never got more than 503. I am a first gen college student and well at the start of college never really knew what the path to medicine looked like. If you were to look at my transcript you'd see that I did have an upward trend but my GPA (2. 3 1st year->3.14) was just very low at the start and so bringing it up was difficult. Those core science classes the first two years and physics really were a struggle but I got As and B+s in all of my upper div bio and lab courses.

I thought that if I could score high enough on the MCAT and given my background, volunteering, and statemetn it would balance out my low GPA. So I spent the first year after of school between retail jobs and studying for the MCAT- unfortunately had a death in the family that hugely impacted my study schedule and well that first MCAT was tragic. Took it two more times and only scored 3 points higher. Looking back I know this was a huge mistake on my part. I should've really taken some more time to enhance my study plan. It goes without saying that I did not get in anywhere (MD/DO).

I have been scribing for a year now without much of plan or thought as to whether i should even apply or consider another career. Believe it or not I didn't know about SMP programs. I'd heard about post baccs but from what I understood those were for career changers. I meet the GPA and MCAT for a handful of programs and bc I did well in my upper divs I think I could really do well.