Those who scored >250 on Step1, how did you prepare?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cbc

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What were your books and strategy? And how many hours a week? Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

would also be very eager to hear how you "uber-geniuses" prepared......

I'd actually settle for how people prepared who got better than 230.

later

Originally posted by cbc
What were your books and strategy? And how many hours a week? Thank you.

I used the Kaplan lecture notes and read them. I also used first aid and a few others. Also lots of questions including qbank, qbook, robbin's pathology, etc.

I studied about 10-12 hours per day *7 days/week * 5 weeks.

best of luck.

Here are the books I used, to varying degrees (ranked 1-5, 1 being the most helpful)

First Aid 1
Kaplan Q-Bank 1
BRS Path 2
BRS Phys 2
High Yield Behavioral Science 3
High Yield Anatomy 3
High Yield Neuro 4-5
Neuro Made Ridiculously Simple 3 (very simple, but sufficient)
High Yield Embryology 5
Lippincott's Pharm Cards 2
Bug Cards 2
Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple 4

Studied for about 5 weeks. Took my test in June (256/99).
Would suggest focusing on First Aid and Q-Bank.

Members don't see this ad :)
study your a$$ off the first two years of medical school and step 1 falls into place...that's the best advice i can give. the next best thing you can do is make sure you give yourself an adequate amount of time to study and do practice questions. there are a lot of questions available from the nbme and kaplan.

Is it true rather than torching us on details on STEP 1, they use rather Fundamental concepts and try to measure your analytical, reasoning, and problem solving ability.

I guess what I am asking is, know the CRITICAL CONCEPTS in each class and LEARN to apply them i.e. know concepts on First Aid Cold and apply them with underground vignettes and Q-Bank.