Terrible 1st year due to personal/family issues- no chance at competitive specialties?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CupcakeCarabiner

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Was hoping I could get some advice here. I'm a really good student actually at med school on a scholarship and had the worst first year. Had a lot of health problems in my fam including autoimmune diseases, stroke, yada yada
Actually just had my first exam of second year and failed it which I've never done in my life. So far almost all my grades are B's so I'm sitting at an abysmal 3.3 GPA or something thereabouts

I'm wondering if I've basically destroyed any chance to get into a competitive specialty/institution, especially with STEP 1 being P/F so I can't "redeem" myself there (although honestly with the way everything is going, my chances of doing that are slim).

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Also, when applying for residency, do you get a chance to explain poor grades anywhere in the application? Would anyone reviewing it care about your circumstances? Anything I can do to make up for these poor grades?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

Was hoping I could get some advice here. I'm a really good student actually at med school on a scholarship and had the worst first year. Had a lot of health problems in my fam including autoimmune diseases, stroke, yada yada
Actually just had my first exam of second year and failed it which I've never done in my life. So far almost all my grades are B's so I'm sitting at an abysmal 3.3 GPA or something thereabouts

I'm wondering if I've basically destroyed any chance to get into a competitive specialty/institution, especially with STEP 1 being P/F so I can't "redeem" myself there (although honestly with the way everything is going, my chances of doing that are slim).